The Possibility of Islands: A scenario for post-tsunami Tokyo

I wanted to respond to the work done by Manar Moursi titled The Possibility of Islands because it was one of the few pieces in the Miller Gallery I felt best represented a speculated future.

I think Moursi does a really good job at visualizing a possible future. I feel Moursi could have done a better job at creating a more convincing narrative of a future in which people have to live within these archipelagos of plastic crates.

If I could add to this piece, I would actually try to create some kind of guide that shows people from western cultures how to construct these plastic crate structures. From what I gather, these crates are common in Asia. So how could a western world implement a system similar to what Moursi envisions?

Leave a Reply

